This site is intended for Healthcare professionals only.

Telangana: Four upcoming colleges denied MCI consent

Telangana: Four upcoming colleges denied MCI consent

Hyderabad: Four new private medical colleges  in Telangana have been refused Medical Council of India( MCI), consent  for MBBS courses for the academic  year for 2017-18. The disapproval comes in the face of the colleges not having  submitted consent of affiliation from the university concerned.

Had the MCI approval come the way of the colleges, 600 seat additions would have followed for undergraduate courses in the state. The four colleges denied approval include: Dr Patnam Mahender Reddy Institute of Medical Sciences, Ayaan Institute of Medical Science, Kanakamamidi s Surabhi Institute of Medical Sciences, Medak, and TRR Institute of Medical Sciences, Medak.

A  nine-member executive committee of the MCI which held a meeting on April 28 this year collectively decided to  abstain from giving admission.

The Committee had been given information by the Telangana government that the consent of affiliation-issued by Dr NTR University of Health Sciences, Vijayawada and submitted by the colleges was valid only up to December 31, 2015.

The college managements who  were admonished for the lapse and submitted a fresh consent of affiliation issued by the Kaloji Narayana Rao University of Health Sciences on November 7, 2016. However, the MCI rejected it, as it had come in after after the cut-off date of July 7, 2016.

Applications for establishment of new colleges must be submitted between June 15 and July 7 every year as per regulations of the MCI. The Union Ministry of Health and Family Welfare has been conveyed the MCI’s decision of disapproval of the four colleges TOI.


Source: with inputs
0 comment(s) on Telangana: Four upcoming colleges denied MCI consent

Share your Opinion Disclaimer

Sort by: Newest | Oldest | Most Voted