This site is intended for Healthcare professionals only.

Tamil Nadu: 5 Govt Medical Colleges get administrative heads

Tamil Nadu: 5 Govt Medical Colleges get administrative heads

Chennai : The government has appointed administrative heads for five government medical colleges (GMCs), in the state, including three in the city. They are likely to take charge on today (April 3).

In the absence of a permanent Dean, for a while, after Dr Muralidharan retired, Dr R Narayanababu, Dean of Kilpauk Medical College & Director of Medical Education (incharge) has been posted as a permanent Dean of Madras Medical College. Dr Ponnambalam Namasivayam, Head of anaesthesiology department, Stanley Medical College, who was Dean in-charge has been promoted and posted as Dean of Stanley Medical College.

Dr Vasanthamani, Dean, Villupuram Medical College, has been appointed as Dean of Kilpauk Medical College. DR Vanithamani, Dean, Thanjavur Medical College, has been posted as Dean of Villupuram Medical College. Gopinath, Director, Institute of Neurology, Madras Medical College, has been promoted and posted as Dean  Thanjavur Medical College. Appointing a permanent Director of Medical Education is under process. “A few senior most people are on the wait list. One of them will be selected after due process,” said a senior health department official to the New Indian Express.

This is the first time that Madras Medical College is getting a head with more than three years of left over service. Dr Narayanababu is scheduled for retirement in 2020.

The postings came as a relief for health department officials, as smooth functioning of the administration, in medical colleges had been affected, due to absence of permanent heads.

 The TN Government Doctors’ Association had also requested the government to increase the left over service period, for selection of heads and  directors, from the present one year to two years for the smooth functioning of  Directorates.

Source: with inputs
1 comment(s) on Tamil Nadu: 5 Govt Medical Colleges get administrative heads

Share your Opinion Disclaimer

Sort by: Newest | Oldest | Most Voted
  1. Nice to see anaessthesiologist as Dean.