This site is intended for Healthcare professionals only.

Pratishthan honours Medical professionals, grants medical students scholarships

Pratishthan honours Medical professionals, grants medical students scholarships

KALABURAGI: Two medical professionals K. Mahadeva, an orthopaedic surgeon from Mysuru, and N. Viswharoopachar, Health Supervisor (retired), Department of Health and Family Welfare, from Bengaluru, were honoured by the Dr. P.S.Shankar Pratishthan, Kalaburagi on Sunday. The pratishthan is a charitable trust involved in the field of health and medical education.  The awards have been granted to the two  for their contributions in the field of health services.

Five meritorious students from economically poor backgrounds, studying in the first year of the  MBBS course in various medical colleges across the State, have  been awarded scholarships worth Rs. 1000 each till the end of their course.

Arogya Sampattu, a book written by Dr. P.S. Shankar, after whom the trust is named, was released by Syed Anwar on this occasion.

Vice chancellor, Central University, Kalaburagi, HM Maheshwaraiah, while addressing the gathering said Dr. PS Shankar was one of the few medical professionals who write extensively in Kannada, keeping the local population in mind. He lauded  Dr. Shankar for his dedicated writing on the latest researches  and developments  in the field of medical science.

He was of the opinion that the medical dictionary and medical encyclopaedia written by Dr. Shankar were the best in medical field.

 “Dr. P.S. Shankar celebrates his birthday on January 1 every year in a very meaningful way by recognizing medical professionals, who have dedicated their lives for the common people through their services in the field of health, and honouring them with awards. He is careful in selecting the medical professionals and medical students for the awards and scholarships,” he said.

The Vice Chancellor was of the opinion that Dr. Shankar’s individual contribution equaled the contribution  of an institution. He urged the people to come forward and help economically deprived students .

Two Rajyotsava award winners from Hyderabad, Karnataka region, P.M. Mannur and Basavaraj Jane, were felicitated on the occasion.

Veerabhadrappa, Paediatrician and Vice-president of the Trust, S.R. Nijanjana, Vice-Chancellor of Gulbarga University, Narendra Badasheshi, Secretary of the trust, and others were present for the occasion.

Source: self
0 comment(s) on Pratishthan honours Medical professionals, grants medical students scholarships

Share your Opinion Disclaimer

Sort by: Newest | Oldest | Most Voted