This site is intended for Healthcare professionals.

CBSE disposes off NIOS grievances ; 43 new centres For NEET 2018 announced

CBSE disposes off NIOS grievances ; 43 new centres For NEET 2018 announced

New Delhi: The CBSE has clarified that it has no role in deciding eligibility criteria for medical entrance exam — NEET — and grievances, if any, should be submitted to the Medical Council of India (MCI).

 The clarification came following several complaints received by the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) about barring open school candidates and those with biology as an additional subject in class 12 from appearing in the National Eligibility Entrance Test (NEET).
Students who have pursued schooling through National Institute of Open Learning (NIOS)/ State Open School or those who studied biology or biotechnology as an additional subject in class 12 are ineligible to appear in NEET.

The CBSE, in an advisory, said,

In recent past, CBSE has received grievances on the Eligibility Criteria for NEET (UG) 2018 Examination. Basically, these grievances are from the students of Open Schools and from the Candidates who have passed class XII as a Private Candidate or have passed Biology, as an additional subject.


It is to apprise that the responsibility of CBSE is limited to hold the NEET (UG) examination, based on the eligibility criteria provided by Medical Council of India (MCI). As per eligibility criteria, students who have pursued schooling through NIOS/ State Open School or students who had studied Biology/ Bio-Technology, as an additional subject at 10+2 level are ineligible as per Graduate Medical Education Regulations, 1997, as amended in 2018 under the MCI Act, 1956 and provided to CBSE to hold the NEET (UG). It is also to apprise that CBSE has no role to play in deciding the eligibility conditions for NEET (UG).

................................ Advertisement ................................

In view of above, all the grievances received by CBSE on the above said issues are disposed off. Further, candidates are once again requested to kindly read the Information Bulletin and FAQs hosted on NEET website before sending grievance to CBSE in any form i.e. through email, fax, phone etc. as the information on the grievances sent to CBSE is already available in the Information Bulletin and FAQs.

Meanwhile, HRD Minister Prakash Javadekar said this year, NEET will be conducted in 150 cities, as against 107 last year.

Tweeting about setting up of 43 new centres, Union HRD Minister Prakash Javadekar said all the cities from where 4,000 and more candidates have applied and which were not exam centres in 2017 have been added as centre cities.

The new centres have been set up in Andhra Pradesh (5), Assam (2), Gujarat (3), Maharashtra (6), Odisha (4), Tamil Nadu (2), Kerala (5), Telangana (2), West Bengal (3), Uttar Pradesh (3) and one new centre each in Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan, Punjab, Karnataka and Uttarakhand.

This year, NEET will be held on May 6. Online application process began on February 8, and March 9 is the last date to register. The last date for payment of exam fee online is March 10 till 11.50 PM.

Check out the details of the centre


Source: with inputs

Share your Opinion Disclaimer

Sort by: Newest | Oldest | Most Voted

    ................................ Advertisement ................................